WBC welcomes all new, novice rowers. Our adult learn-to-row programs are tailored to anyone who has always wanted to give rowing a try. All novice rowers interested in becoming WBC members* must participate in one of WBC’s “Learn-To-Row” programs.

The Learn-to Row programs are conducted over 10 sessions (a period of 3+ weeks) and provide participants with an introduction to the sport of rowing. It starts with a quick introduction to rowing mechanics on land using the rowing machine (erg) and then quickly transition to the river where the real fun begins. We pride ourselves in creating a fun, informative environment that is truly ideal for ALL levels of athletes. Each session includes opportunities for sweep rowing (each rower holds one oar) and sculling (each rower holds two oars). It is our goal that by the end of the program you gain enough exposure to the sport to know whether you would like to continue. Many learn-to-row “graduates” become year-round Whitemarsh Boat Club members and make new friends in the process. Learning to row can be addictive!

2022 ADULT LEARN-TO-ROW

JUNE – SESSION I – Early Summer Dates & Times

Monday, June 6, 6:15 to 8:00 pm

Wednesday, June 8, 6:15 to 8:00 pm

Saturday, June 11, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, June 13, 6:15-8:00 pm

Wednesday, June 15, 6:15-8:00 pm

Saturday, June 18, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, June 20 6:15-8:00 pm

Wednesday, June 22, 6:15-8:00 pm

Saturday, June 25, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, June 27, 6:15-8:00 pm

Early Summer Make up dates:

Wednesday, June 29*, 9-10:30 am

Saturday, July 2*, 6:15-8:00 pm

*Make up sessions (for when coaches must cancel practice)


JULY – SESSION II – Mid Summer Dates & Times

Wednesday, July 6, 6:15 to 8:00 pm

Saturday, July 9, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, July 11, 6:15 to 8:00 pm

Wednesday, July 13, 6:15 to 8:00 pm

Saturday, July 16, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, July 18, 6:15-8:00 pm

Wednesday, July 20, 6:15-8:00 pm

Saturday, July 23, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, July 25, 6:15-8:00 pm

Wednesday, July 27 6:15-8:00 pm

Early Summer Make up dates:

Saturday, July 30*, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, Aug. 1*, 6:15-8:00 pm

*Make up sessions (for when coaches must cancel practice)

AUGUST – SESSION IIILate Summer Dates & Times

Monday, August 8, 6:15-8:00 pm

Wednesday, August 10, 6:15-8:00 pm

Saturday, August 13, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, August 15, 6:15-8:00 pm

Wednesday, August 17, 6:15-8:00 pm

Saturday, August 20, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, August 22, 6:15-8:00 pm

Wednesday, August 24, 6:15-8:00 pm

Saturday, August 27, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Monday, August 29, 6:15-8:00 pm

Late Summer Make up dates:

Saturday, August 27*, 9:00 am – 10:45 am

Wednesday, August 31*, 6:15-8:00 pm

*Make up sessions (for when coaches must cancel practice)


ABOUT THE PROGRAM:

The classes are conducted by experienced WBC rowing coaches and experienced volunteers. We ask that you miss no more than 1-2 class sessions as it is very difficult to catch up & we do not offer the ability to make up any sessions. We also ask that you not miss the first class as it will cover technique and safety in preparation for getting onto the water.

To ensure individual attention, each session is limited to 15 participants.

This Learn-To-Row (LTR) class is designed to give you structured, intensive coaching in rowing technique and safety.

At the end of the course, you should feel comfortable in both sweep and sculling shells. You’ll be able to decide if rowing is a sport you can enjoy long-term.

Participants must be competent swimmers. (You must feel comfortable in and on the water and be able to tread water.)

*PASS REQUIREMENTS:

Our Learn to Row coaches will grade each student on mobility, coordination, technique, and coachability. Based on a student’s progress, the coaches will communicate areas of concern where the student needs to improve. The above passing criteria are required to join the Whitemarsh Boat Club.

FEES:

Our 2022 Adult Learn-to-Row programs cost $425 for 10 sessions, which is payable online via credit card or PayPal at time of registration. Program fee covers 10 learn to row sessions. Payment in full reserves your seat. No refunds or pro-rated amounts for missed classes.

SAVE THE DATE:

JUNE 4, 2022

WHITEMARSH BOAT CLUB WILL ONCE AGAIN BE PARTICIPATING IN USROWING’S NATIONAL LEARN TO ROW DAY. IF YOU EVER THOUGHT ABOUT

LEARNING TO ROW, THIS IS YOUR CHANCE TO EXPERIENCE IT FIRST HAND FOR A FEW HOURS. EMAIL US AT WBCNationalLTRday@Gmail.com to RSVP. We look forward to teaching you this amazing sport we here at Whitemarsh Boat Club have come to love.

Questions? CONTACT US for more details about upcoming adult programs.

For information about LTR for middle school & high school students, CLICK HERE.

New this year *Adult Learn to Erg *

Our programs are in high demand. If you register for one of our programs, but find that you have to cancel, our policy is that we do not offer refunds.

PLEAS EMAIL OUR PROGRAM COORDINATOR AT WHITEMARSHBOATCLUB@GMAIL.COM TO BE ADDED TO OUR EMAIL LIST SO YOU RECEIVE NOTICE WHEN REGISTRATIONS OPEN FOR THE NEXT CLASS

CHECK BACK IN JANUARY FOR 2023 CLASS DATES